Excellence in Foster Care Awards

Nominations for 2020 are now open

Fostering Kids New Zealand has been recognising the extraordinary work that caregivers do by celebrating the Excellence in Foster Care Awards annually since 2007. In 2012, Oranga Tamariki – Ministry for Children, partnered with Fostering Kids NZ and have now successfully hosted the awards together for seven years.  Nominations are now closed for the 2019 Excellence in Foster Care Awards.

Nominations for the 2020 Excellence in Foster Care Awards close at 5pm on Monday 18 November 2019.

For further information please call National Office on 0800 693 323. Alternatively send an email to Hayley Pedersen – hayley.pedersen@nullfosteringkids.org.nz

2019 Excellence in Foster Care Awards

The awards ceremony is usually held during Foster Care Awareness week.  However, due to the horrible events in Christchurch earlier this year, the awards were postponed and they will be happening at our National Conference in October.  The recipients, from throughout New Zealand, will receive their award from Minister Martin, Gráinne Moss, Chief Executive of Oranga Tamariki and Linda Surtees, Chief Executive of Fostering Kids NZ.

“People who provide foster and permanent homes for tamariki, never do it for the recognition – they do it because they care deeply. But they do deserve widespread support and thanks from the community and this is a great opportunity to celebrate them,” said Fostering Kids NZ CEO Linda Surtees.

Speaking at the 2018 event, The Minister for Children, Hon. Tracey Martin, spoke of what a privilege it was to host the Awards. “I have huge admiration and respect for every one of this country’s foster carers. Your generosity and that of your families is amazing.”

“The carers who win the Excellence in Foster Care Awards are the best of a fantastic group of people who provide hope, love and sense of belonging that all children deserve,” Minister Martin said.

Guest speaker Judge Andrew Becroft inspired us all when he spoke of what we can learn from the tamariki.

Here are the amazing recipients of the 2018 Excellence in Foster Care Awards (to read some of their stories click the recipients’ name).

Eufracia (Perry) Bunao’s story, Tauranga.

Janice Goodgame’s story, Rangiora.

Lynda and Aka Alesana, Christchurch.

Kerry and Lyall Halder’s story, Invercargill.

Tracy and Phil Inwood’s story, Christchurch.

Linda and Robert Jones’ story, Invercargill.

Sarah and Sean Martin, Dunedin.

Mary-Anne and John Tahi Tahi, Auckland.

Brenda and Malcolm Yorston’s story, Auckland.

Ingrid Chapman, Auckland.

Below is a video of the highlights from the 2018 Excellence in Foster Care Awards.